“Stay Busy”

One, two, three
Kisses on the head
He says to stay busy
That’s how you go through the day

So I fill it up
Every minute blocked off
Working till my feet go numb
Only to get home and shower
Then crawl into bed

But wait…
It’s cold

And his arms aren’t wrapped around me
With his breath whispering in my ear
While his stubble tickles my neck
And our feet aren’t pressed together
Causing legs to twist and turn

So I reach for the laptop
Netflix kills time
But, so does a book
Or, maybe, I’ll cook

I don’t know
How do you stay busy?
How do you not think?
Meditation?
That’s the one class I failed at.

© 2017 Jessica Santos

Leave a Reply

